Living History

Meet Living Historians reenacting America’s past on weekends and holidays!

All Ages

Have you ever wanted to meet people from history? What about handle awesome objects from long ago? Or learn a historical trade or military drill? Then join us to meet soldiers, musicians, famous leaders, and craftspeople from the past—all portrayed by Living Historians from the present!

Living History programs are free with Museum Admission—no RSVP required. So drop by and hang out as much as you’d like!

WHO WILL I MEET?

You never know! Living History programs vary each weekend. They may be related to our permanent collection, special exhibitions, historical events, or heritage months. Read on to find a program that interests you, or visit our online Family Programs Calendar to see what’s up next.

UPCOMING PROGRAMS

This season don’t miss programs exploring our exhibition Hudson Rising, the American Civil War, Pride Month, and more!

Hudson River History Songs

 

Saturday, May 4

Sunday, May 5

Mary Kies, First to Patent

 

Saturday, May 11

Sunday, May 12

Meet James Madison

Saturday, May 18

Sunday, May 19

Civil War Weekend

Saturday, May 25

Sunday, May 26

Meet Sylvia Rivera

Saturday, June 1

Sunday, June 2

Meet Abraham Lincoln

Saturday, June 8

Juneteenth

Saturday, June 15

Meet Sylvia Rivera

Saturday, June 29

COMING SOON

We add new programs to this page and our Family Programs Calendar every other month, so check back as more themes for Living History programs are announced. Starting July 4, prepare to explore the Revolutionary War every weekend during Revolutionary Summer!   

READ ABOUT LIVING HISTORIANS

If your family loves American history, visit our History Detectives blog! Click here to read posts about past and upcoming Living History programs and interviews with Living Historians. 

 

 

GET INVOLVED

Are you a Living Historian? We want to hear from you! Contact Coordinator of Living History Programs J.M. Wasko at j.m.wasko@nyhistory.org to express interest in working with us on select programs as a contractor.

Creative: Tronvig Group