Living History

Meet Living Historians reenacting America’s past on weekends and holidays!

All Ages

Have you ever wanted to meet famous or little-known historic figures? What about handle awesome objects from the past? Or learn a historical trade or military drill? Then join us to meet soldiers, musicians, leaders, and craftspeople from the past—all portrayed by Living Historians from the present!

Living History programs are free with Museum Admission—no RSVP required. So drop by and hang out as much as you like!

WHO WILL I MEET?

You never know! Living History programs vary each weekend. They may be related to our permanent collection, special exhibitions, historical events, or heritage months. Read on to find a program that interests you, or visit our online Family Programs Calendar to see what’s up next.

UPCOMING PROGRAMS

This season don’t miss programs in conjunction with our exhibition celebrating the 150th anniversary of the 14th Amendment, Black Citizenship in the Age of Jim Crow, through March 3. Then, celebrate Women’s History Month or our special exhibition Betye Saar: Keepin’ It Clean every weekend in March.

African American Schools in Reconstruction

Saturday, February 9

Sunday, February 10

First Black Elected Officials

Saturday, February 16

Sunday, February 17

Presidents Day: Cocoa with the Founders

Monday, February 18

Investigative Reporting & Jim Crow

Saturday, February 23

Sunday, February 24

Founding Black Harlem

Saturday, March 2

Sunday, March 3

Meet Harriet Tubman

Saturday, March 10

Sunday, March 11

Votes for Women

Saturday, March 16

Sunday, March 17

Meet Madam C.J. Walker

Saturday, March 23

Sunday, March 24

Women, the Extraordinary Soldiers of the Civil War

Saturday, March 30

Meet Deborah Sampson, a Revolutionary War Soldier!

Sunday, March 31

living historian in the library

COMING SOON

We add new programs to this page and our Family Programs Calendar every month, so check back as more themes for Living History programs are announced. In April, Living History programs will also be organized in conjunction with our new exhibition, Hudson Rising, and will include songs and stories by the Hudson River Ramblers!   

READ ABOUT LIVING HISTORIANS

If your family loves American history, visit our History Detectives blog! Click here to read posts about past and upcoming Living History programs and interviews with Living Historians. 

 

 

GET INVOLVED

Are you a Living Historian? We want to hear from you! Contact Coordinator of Living History Programs J.M. Wasko at j.m.wasko@nyhistory.org to express interest in working with us on select programs as a contractor.

Creative: Tronvig Group